Mother’s Day for the Coulson Family

Coulson Women
Sometimes a writer doesn’t realize the underlying message of a book or series when he or she starts writing. It wasn’t until I finished the fifth book in the Coulson Series that I realized what the stories were really about—the women. The strong women who held the family together.

Don’t get me wrong, the men of the Coulson Series were no wimps. Randall Coulson built an empire; Harrison kept it going, and Garret, well Garret is Garret.

But, it was the Coulson women who directed the ship, changed its course. To the women of Coulson, Happy Mother’s Day.

Mary Ellen, who didn’t choose motherhood—but embraced it.

Vera, who because of her demons was incapable of being a good mother—yet still wanted the best for her children.

Alexandra, who was always there for her son—and lovingly welcomed a daughter she never planned.

Kim, who lost a child she never met—yet by the end of the series, was preparing to greet a new one.

To all the women out there—real and those we create in our imagination—Happy Mother’s Day.

What will you be reading this summer?

Sugar Rush
While summer doesn’t technically arrive for a couple months, here in Havasu we’ve been feeling the arrival of summer, with increasingly warmer days, in spite of yesterday’s rainstorm. In about a month our local schools take off for summer vacation.

For some readers, vacation time signifies extra reading time. If you enjoy light, happily-ever-after romances, you might consider adding some books from my Unlocked Hearts series to your summer reading list.

One of my favorites is Sugar Rush, which takes place in my home town of Lake Havasu City, Arizona. If you take a closer look at the book cover, you’ll see the London Bridge in the background. In case you don’t already know, Lake Havasu City’s founder, Robert McCulloch, bought the London Bridge in the late 60s and transported it from London to our little desert community, where it was reconstructed and officially opened in 1971.

Another reason I’m partial to Sugar Rush—it includes my dad’s homemade hot fudge recipe. If you like chocolate (and who doesn’t) you have to give it a try.

Of course, summer is weeks away, so maybe you should just read Sugar Rush now.

New Look for the Unlocked Hearts Series


Cover designer Elizabeth Mackey has given my Unlocked Hearts series a new look! I especially love the Sugar Rush cover with the London Bridge in the background. Sugar Rush takes place in my hometown, Lake Havasu City, Arizona, home of the London Bridge.

The eBook covers are still updating, so they aren’t all up. It will take a few weeks before the paperback versions are updated with the new covers.

Look for Sundered Hearts Tomorrow

Sundered Hearts_Cover

If all goes as planned, tomorrow Sundered Hearts should be available at Smashwords, and hopefully by Friday (or sooner) it will be available at Amazon. It will probably take a little longer to show up on the other venues, such as Barnes & Noble, iTunes and Kobo.

Part of my Sensual Romance Series, Sundered Hearts is a complete, standalone story, yet it introduces a much younger Ella (While Snowbound), Lexi (Sugar Rush) and Kit (After Sundown).

I hope you enjoy the story.

Coming soon – Sundered Hearts


Last night I sent my newest book – Sundered Hearts – off to the editor. It took me a while to decided on a title for this one. I even appealed to some of my author friends for ideas. Friend and fellow author Carol Newsome suggested Sundered Hearts, which fit the story beautifully.  Thanks Carol!!

Look for Sundered Hearts in the near future.

About Sundered Hearts:

Susan Thomas thought she had it all—a home, a husband she loved, and children in her future—until everything came crashing down one rainy afternoon, exposing her perfect world as a lie.

Determined to move on with her life, Susan recklessly drags Brandon Carpenter from the bar and into her bed. When she doesn’t see him again, Susan fears she is repeating her same old mistakes.

Seeking refuge at Shipley Mountain, the last person Susan expects to run into is Brandon. He has his own reasons for being on the mountain. Brandon and Susan must put aside their misunderstandings. A child’s life is at stake.

Rebranding Books from a Series


It’s sometimes a little confusion to some of my readers – those who read Lessons when it was first published two years ago, only to discover Lessons is now titled Coulson’s Lessons – and that instead of being number one in the Coulson Series, it is now number three. How did that happen? I am so confused!

Well, actually, I’m not confused – but I may have confused a few of my readers.

I first wrote Lessons, an adult love story – and then The Senator’s Secret, which is more mystery than love story. Readers first met most of The Senator’s Secret characters in Lessons.

I then decided I wanted to go back in time, and write about the people from Lessons, when they were children – to show how they first met and formed their relationships. I wanted to give readers more insight into their history.

When I started writing, I found myself jumping back one generation – to first tell the story of the grandfather that started the empire and founded Coulson. But the story ended up being more about his wife, in Coulson’s Wife.

After Coulson’s Wife, I wrote Coulson’s Crucible, which introduced many of the characters from Lessons. For some it might have been a character overload. I’m just hoping the story of Garret’s parent pulls the reader successfully through the book without too much confusion.

After Coulson’s Wife and Coulson’s Crucible, it was decided to rebrand the series – and rename the first two books written. Lessons became Coulson’s Lessons and The Senator’s Secret became Coulson’s Secret.

As I’ve mentioned before, there will be at least one more book in the series – Coulson’s Reckoning, which will tie together loose ends woven throughout the books.

Yet, for those who despise having to read all books in a series to get a complete story, I promise you can read any of the first four books, without having to read any of other books from the series.